My response to comments by Brett Duncan, member of Tangipahoa Parish School Board.

Dear Mr. Duncan,

In response to some comments that you made to the media last week:

 First, I must disagree with your position that Common Core is not going away. It has hit on a very personal level for parents as it directly affects our children. I know that I will personally fight it every step of the way and I will not stop until it is gone. It is an experiment. There is no evidence to support it. The more people know about what is going on, and the more research they do, the more backlash there will be. For example, yesterday I spoke with a random sampling of about 30 parents picking up their children from school and only ONE was a proponent of Common Core.

Second, I certainly do not consider your saying that the St. Tammany resolution against Common Core is a publicity stunt to be, what you would call, “sincere and honest dialogue”. I consider YOUR remark to be the “political-slash-publicity stunt” in an effort to keep the real issues from being heard. St. Tammany has done what they feel is right for our children, our teachers, and our educational system. I commend them for this and I hope that other parishes will step up alongside them and say no to Common Core.

Thank you for your time and I hope that you will take the time to really read through the information that I am sending.

Sincerely,

Terra Orgeron

